The Watton Town Council

Local Government changes became effective on April 1st 1974, when the Parish Council became the Town Council with a Town Mayor as its Chairman. Since that date the following townsfolk have held the Office of Town Mayor:-
1974/75 and 1975/76 Mr. G. Mitchell,
1976/77 Mr. R. Thornhill,
1977/78 Mr. R. Rudling,
1978/79 Dr. R. D. Shanks.
1979/80 Mr. C. Cadman,
1980/81 Mr. 0. Adcock,
1981/82 Mr. N. Eldridge,
1982/83 Mrs. J. Crabtree,
1983/84 Mr. T. Turley,
1984/85 Mr. G. Rudkin,
1985/86 Mr. C. Cadman.

From the first elected members to Watton Parish Council in 1895 to the last elected in 1973, the council had the remarkable record of having only 3 Clerks and making this even more remarkable is that they all belonged to one family as follows: — 1895 to 1927 Mr. E. Harvey, 1927 to 1948 Mr. E. A. Harvey and 1948 to 1974 Mr. W. E. Harvey



  Online Books
  Watton through the Ages
  Grandads Watton
  Yesterdays Dumplings

  The Churches of Watton
  The RAF in Watton
  The Town Council
  The Schools of Watton
  Organisations in Watton
  Companies in Watton
  Locations in Watton
  Local Heroes
  The Railway in Watton
  The Farming Community

  A Living History
  History one story at a time
  Things to remember

  Site search

  Contact Us

  Hosted by Watton Pentecostal Church